Home Singapore Events
singapore athletic association
singapore athletic association
Posted by Sha


The Singapore Marathon had its beginning in 1982 when it was first established as a ‘fun run’ and 28th edition later, the event is now an IAAF Gold Label Race, and could easily attracts participation up to 50,000 per race.

Organised by then the Singapore International Marathon Organising Committee, the inaugural event saw Raymond Crab from the UK and Winnie Ng from Hong Kong to first cross the finishing line in a time of 2:24.19 and 2:55.11 respectively.

The men local category was won by Goh Gam Seng who finished the course in a time of 2:43.55.

Male open winners and Winnie Ng (right)

Men (Foreign)

    1st – Raymond Crab (UK) 2:24.19
    2nd – Kenneth Gene Hunter (USA) 2:25.49
    3rd – John Esquibel (USA) 2:26.03

Men (Local)

    1st – Goh Gam Seng, 2:43.55
    2nd – Sandrasegeran, 2:44.43
    3rd – Leow Hock Sin, 2:47.33

Women (Foreign)

    1st – Winnie Ng (Hong Kong) 2:55.11
    2nd – Sharon Barbano (USA) 3:15.11

The event after a resounding success two years earlier and with the encouraging response, it returned for its second edition in 1984.

The sport of running was getting popular with the masses back then, and the Singapore Marathon became the ideal event for one to seek a personal challenge.

It was a race not often against a competitor but a race against oneself.

Goh Gam Seng winner of local men’s category in 1982 and 1984

In the 1984 competition, Goh Gam Seng successfully defended his men local title, coming in an improved time of 2:35.54.

The race attracted quality competitors from world over.

That edition saw Tommy Persson of Sweden winning in record course fashion timing of 2:18.30 while Danish Kersti Jacobsen won the women’s open category also another new course record of 2:41.34

L to R: Winner of Men Open, participants shot along Nicoll Highway and Yeo Poh Cheow, women local winner.

Men (Foreign)

    1st – Tommy Persson (Sweden) 2:18.30
    2nd – Jose Rovyn (Belgium) 2:19.56
    3rd – Julien Grimmon (Belgium) 2:20.50

Men (Local)

    1st – Goh Gam Seng, 2:35.54
    2nd – R Elengovan, 2:43.35
    3rd – Leow Hock Sin, 2:51.18

Women (Foreign)

    1st – Kersti Jacobsen (Denmark) 2:41.34
    2nd – Evy Palm (Sweden) 2:45.40
    3rd – Asha Aggarwal (India) 2:45.40

Women (Local)

    1st – Yeo Poh Cheow, 3:24.27
    2nd – Wee Chee Hoong, 3:27.46
    3rd – Dr Chung Sook Yin, 3:40.02

Over the years, the event has grown in popularity.

Recognised by International Association of Athletics Federations, Singapore Marathon initiatives was also in-line with the Singapore National Olympic Council’s policy of promoting Sports Excellence in Singapore.

Below are more galleries to the most anticipated running event of the year, and we hope this article shed more insight on Singapore marathon beginnings.

Results – 1986 Singapore Marathon

Men (Foreign)

    1st – Alain Lazara (France) 2:19.04
    2nd – Baikuntha Mandhar (Nepal) 2:23.38
    3rd – Jean Pierre Pietrement (France) 2:24.13

Men (Local)

    1st – Leow Hock Sin, 2:47.30
    2nd – Tan Choon Ghee, 2:51.11
    3rd – Sandeirasegaran Segar, 2:51.38

Women (Foreign)

    1st – Kersti Jacobsen (Denmark) 2:39.03
    2nd – Denise Verhaert (Belgium) 2:50.04
    3rd – Barbara McKerrow (New Zealand) 2:57.05

Women (Local)

    1st – Wee Chee Hoong, 3:18.29
    2nd – K Jayamani, 3:19.55
    3rd – Yeo Poh Cheow, 3:30.35

Gallery – 1986 Singapore Marathon

Results – 1988 Singapore Marathon

Men (Foreign)

    1st – Hans Pfisterer (W.Germany) 2:22.49
    2nd – Soeren Hellmark (Sweden) 2:23.50
    3rd – Jetil Berg (Norway) 2:24.12

Men (Local)

    1st – Khoo Ching Mong Rocky, 2:44.21
    2nd – Kanan s/o Vedhamuthu, 2:48.36
    3rd – M Sanderasegaran, 2:48.56

Women (Foreign)

    1st – Li Yemei (People’s Rep. of Chine) 2:46.04
    2nd – Maria Lawalata (Indonesia) 2:48.49
    3rd – Tove Schultz-Lorentzen (Denmark) 2:50.26

Women (Local)

    1st – Amy Dudley, 3:14.30
    2nd – Chua Bee Ling Irene, 3:24.49
    3rd – Wee Chee Hoong, 3:25.29

Gallery – 1988 Singapore Marathon

2nd May 2013
singapore athletic association
singapore athletic association

About Us

Founded in 1935, SA's historic footprints began more than 60 years ago when we opened our doors to Singapore's early athletes at the Farrer Park Stadium. Since then, the SA has toiled and grown, and is now poised to chart new territories for the future. Under the helm of a new dynamic team of volunteers and full-time secretariat, the association will take bold strides to nurture talents and work towards a holistic athlete development and making competitive athletics a viable career, read more »
singapore athletic association
singapore athletic association
singapore athletic association
Go Top ↑
Addr: SAA, #01-33, 3 Stadium Drive, S'pore 397630 | Tel: +65 63862721 | Fax: +65 63867773 | UEN: S63SS0015L | PDPA
Total Visitors: